2017 NYSSA Award Winners!

This year’s NYSSA Award winners were announced at the 2017 SLEDNY Educational Forum, held in Lake Placid, NY on April 28 and 29. The Award luncheon was attended by  nearly 600 attendees necessitating  moving the event to the 1932 Jack Shea Ice Arena to accommodate all of our guests!

The Award Luncheon, in the historic 1932 Jack Shea Ice Arena.

The Award Luncheon, in the historic 1932 Jack Shea Ice Arena.

The NYSSA Annual Awards Program was developed to recognize those individuals and organizations that go the extra mile, year in and year out, to promote and to make snowmobiling better and safer throughout New York State.  Awards are made in the following categories:
•    New York State Snowmobile Dealership of the Year
•    New York State Groomer Operator of the Year
•    New York State Snowmobile Family of the Year
•    The John Albert/Edward Dutcher Most Valuable Snowmobiler of the Year
•    Youth Snowmobiler of the Year.
The qualifications for these awards are based on the guidelines for the awards given out annually by the American Council of Snowmobile Associations (ACSA) and can be found in the NYSSA Policy Manual and on the NYSSA Website.  Nomination packages are also forwarded on to ACSA for national level award consideration. Nominations are submitted throughout the season, with a cutoff of March 1 each year.

The remaining award category is the NYSSA President’s Award.  The criteria for this award is determined by the President of NYSSA, and is generally awarded to a person or persons that have greatly facilitated NYSSA Operations.  For complete NYSSA Award history, see the Awards page.


Turin Ridge Riders

Members and Officers of the Turin Ridge Riders accepted the honor of the NYSSA 2017 Club of the Year!

Rick Burt of Seven Valley Snow Goers accepted the NYSSA Dealership of the Year for Doug’s Motorsports Unlimited!

NYSSA President Rosanne Warner presented Mike and Claudia Irwin of the Hartford Ridge Riders with the 2017 NYSSA Family of the Year!

Mike Walenczyk (center right) from DRAG of Speculator was honored with the 2017 NYSSA “Groomer of the Year!” Presenting the award and “Groomer Jacket” left to right are Gary Broderick, NYSSA Past President, Kelly Grammo, 2017 Forum Chair and NYSSA President Rosanne Warner.

Betty Haig of Lost Trail Snowmobile Club was honored with the 2017 John Albert/Ed Dutcher Most Valuable Snowmobiler of the Year for her many years of dedication to her club and the sport!

Jason Larson of the Hamburg Snowmobile Club is presented the 2017 NYSSA Youth of the Year by NYSSA President Rosanne Warner.

The Lewis County Sheriff’s Snowmobile Patrol was honored by the Long Island Snow Seekers with the presentation of a surprise check to support the Patrol’s outstanding efforts to respond to snowmobile issues in the county including enforcement and search and rescue. In addition Chris Mandeville Vice president of Rock Tavern Sno Riders, Rock Tavern in Orange County instead of keeping a monetary raffle he had just won in front of the crowd , stepped up to the stage and out of the wild blue called Mike up and presented his winnings of $310.00 to the Sheriff’s office for snowmobile equipment patrol. Deputy Sheriff Mike Leviker (center) was surprised and moved by the donations.

President’s Award – Jim McCulley of the Lake Placid Snowmobile Club: This past Saturday night at its annual Forum’s Banquet the New York Snowmobile Association gave Jim McCulley, of Lake Placid, its 2017 Presidents Award for his past and present efforts to increase access to land in the Northern Adirondacks for snowmobile trails and the improvement of trails already existing.


Get your registration voucher now!

NYSSA Publications