about-nyssaBoard of Directors

The NYSSA Board of Directors is elected by the clubs in each District. Each Club or County Association can nominate a candidate, then the clubs within the district elect the Director. Directors work with each club in their districts giving all snowmobilers a chance to be in touch with NYSSA at the local level. If you think you would like to donate some time and serve on the NYSSA Board of Directors contact your local clubs or the NYSSA staff for information on how to become  NYSSA director

Forms needed to become a Director or Alternate or Director at Large:

2017-18 Board of Directors

District Director
Allegany Edward Zalar
Broome Judi Whittaker
Broome (Alternate) Sue Marsh
Cattaragus Bob Bach
Cattaraugus (Alternate) Cathy Hill
Cattaraugus (Alternate) Rick Bocharski
Cayuga Randy Coleman
Cayuga (Alternate) Mike Major
Chautauqua Jeff Contino
Chautauqua (Alternate 1) Shawn Sweatman
Chautauqua (Alternate 2) Lester Lucas
Chenango Aggie Lunzman
Chenango(Alternate) & SECRETARY Erin N. Pittsley
Clinton Tom Highers
Erie & Past President 2003-2006 Hal Fleischman
Erie (Alternate) Jim Teator
Franklin David Knapp
Fulton Dennis Wickham
Genesee Jay Zintel
Herkimer Ronald Barnes
Jefferson Email
Lewis Jason Kowalczyk
Madison John Winterton II
Madison (Alt) Chris Wright Email
Monroe/Livingston Email
Montgomery/Schenectady Karl W. Gustafson
Nassau/Suffolk Email
Niagara & Past President 2010-2013 Gary Broderick
Oneida Jaimie Warner
Oneida (Alternate) Jeff Pabis
Onondaga Tim Taylor
Onondaga (Alternate 1) Gerry Gould
Onondaga (Alternate 2) Gary Hodge
Onondaga (Alternate 3) John Russell
Ontario Amanda Bourne
Orange/Sullivan Email
Orleans  Randy Gurnsey
Oswego George Cummins
Oswego (Alternate Jerry Arzie
Otsego Jim Tiffany
Renssaelaer Raymond K. Buchholz
Rockland Email
Saratoga William B Cook
Schoharie Glenn Hayton
Schuyler/Tompkins  Charlie Hull
Schuyler/Tompkins (Alternate) Joe Black
Schuyler/Tompkins (Alternate) Melvin Bates
St. Lawrence Kelly Grammo
St. Lawrence Alternate
Craig LaPlante
Steuben/Yates Mark Wolfanger
Tioga/Chemung Robert K. Jennings
Ulster Email
Warren Ken Brooks
Warren (Alternate) Walter Peterson
Washington Laurie Desourdy
Wayne Randall Phillips
Wayne (Alternate Darlene Lombardo
John Occhino
Wyoming Roger McCabe
PRESIDENT (no vote unless tie) Rosanne Warner
Director at Large Phil LaPlante
Director at Large Rollin Scroger
Director at Large Josh Braman


committeeCommittees of NYSSA are the heart of the organization. It is the committee that represents the real work of the organization. Without the efforts of committees, the work assigned, delegated and assumed by NYSSA will go undone. Therefore, each committee member has a responsibility to be an active participant in the work of the committee.

There are two kinds of committees in NYSSA: Standing Committees and Ad-hoc Committees. The Standing Committees are committed to an ongoing, never-ending effort for the betterment of snowmobiling in New York. Ad-hoc Committees are those approved by the BOD and are assigned a specific, short term temporary task. The President appoints all members of committees, unless otherwise noted in the By-Laws. Any individual interested in becoming a member of a committee must notify the President of their interest in being appointed to a certain committee.

Committee contacts:

Budget & Finance: Budget & Finance oversees the financial stability of the organization, prepare budget for approval, ensure NYSSA remains in good financial standing, purchase order process, budget tracking and accountability.

Events & Promotions: Events & Promotions plans for the Annual Meeting and SLEDNY Educational Forum. It promotes NYSSA by recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations that improve snowmobiling in New York State.

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee previews and acts on issues involving NYSSA. It determines the assignment of issues to committees.

Governmental Affairs: Prepares legislative issues to be presented to the BOD for approval, and keeps abreast of all legislation that may affect the sport of snowmobiling in New York State.

Membership & Communications: To increase and sustain membership in clubs throughout New York State. Increase and sustain NYSSA business memberships. Promote and increase NYSSA Trail Defender memberships. To act as the public interface between both snowmobilers and non-snowmobilers throughout New York while presenting NYSSA in a positive image.

Safety and Education: This committee promotes the safe operations of snowmobiles and grooming equipment throughout New York State.

Trails Funding and Development: Responsible for all issues related to trails. Works closely with Government Affairs committee and OPRHP on trail related legislation. Responsible for grooming policy, GPS policy, trail inspection policy, etc.

Ad-Hoc Committee Contacts:

annual meeting attendeesBylaws: The Bylaws committee reviews bylaw change proposals prior to the Annual Meeting, where the proposals are voted on by the Club Delegats.

Nominating: The nominating committee accepts nominations for Officers and presents a proposed slate of Officers to the Board and the Club Delegates each year.


Get your registration voucher now!

NYSSA Publications